API Liferay in Vaadin Portlet

I’m testing Liferay portlets and Vaadin, I want to know how I can interact with Liferay Vaadin APIs, eg
to get the authenticated user name in the example code ? .I’m new to this Where I can get source code examples?
Related documentation ?

API liferay:
http://content.liferay.com/4.0.0/docs/api/portal-ejb/index.html

Example Code:

package com.example.vaadin1;

import com.vaadin.Application;
import com.vaadin.ui.;
import com.liferay.portal.
;
import com.liferay.portal.model.User;
import com.liferay.portlet.*;

public class Vaadin1Application extends Application {
@Override
public void init() {

String name;

[b]

name = User.getFullName();
[/b]

Window mainWindow = new Window("Vaadin1 Application");	
	Label label = new Label(name);   //User loged
	LoginFormExample x = new LoginFormExample();
	mainWindow.addComponent(label);
	mainWindow.addComponent(x);
	setMainWindow(mainWindow);
}

}
import com.vaadin.ui.LoginForm;
import com.vaadin.ui.VerticalLayout;
import com.vaadin.ui.LoginForm.LoginEvent;

@SuppressWarnings(“serial”)
public class LoginFormExample extends VerticalLayout {

public LoginFormExample() {

LoginForm login = new LoginForm();
    login.setWidth("100%");
    login.setHeight("300px");
    login.addListener(new LoginForm.LoginListener() {
        public void onLogin(LoginEvent event) {
            getWindow().showNotification(
                    "New Login",
                    "Username: " + event.getLoginParameter("username")
                            + ", password: "
                            + event.getLoginParameter("password"));
        }
    });
    addComponent(login);

}

}

Eclipse Error message: Cannot make a static reference to the non-static method getFullName() from the type User

I’m a beginner and help is welcome

Thanks