Open new detail view with id from grid list is other view

Hi, I’m new to Vaadin (and have the basics in programming)and just did the Vaadin CRM tutorial. https://vaadin.com/learn/tutorials/modern-web-apps-with-spring-boot-and-vaadin
But now I would like to expand the applications with new views etc so I can learn more about Vaadin.
So the question is, if for example you have a list with contacts in a grid. I would like to click on one of the contacts and then a new view opens up with all the data from that item. In other words I need to get the ID from the clicked contact and with that ID open a new view and get all of that persons data from the database.
Getting the data from the database using custom query for example isn’t the issue. I just don’t know how to program the view so it opens a new view where that persons data can be loaded into.
I’ve searched the Internet but couldn’t find a good example or something like it.

Maybe it’s super easy and I just looked over it, but any help would be much appreciated!

Sounds like you could use a view with the contact id as a URL parameter: https://vaadin.com/docs/v14/flow/routing/tutorial-router-url-parameters.html#url-parameters-for-navigation-targets

So you could use this in your first view:

String id = "get id from clicked item";
    UI.getCurrent().navigate(OtherView.class, id);

In your other view, implement HasUrlParameter:

public class OtherView extends VerticalLayout implements HasUrlParameter<String> {

@Override
    public void setParameter(BeforeEvent event, @OptionalParameter String parameter) {
       // here you can initialize the view if the parameter is present
    }

Hi,

Thanks for helping!

When I try to implement this I’m getting some errors.
At my first view I’ve done this in configureGrid method:

grid.setSelectionMode(Grid.SelectionMode.SINGLE);
        grid.addItemClickListener(event -> goToOrganisation(event.getItem()));

and this is the method to open new view: