Gradle Sprintboot Starter Project build problem

Hello,
I am a complete newbie to Vaadin. I wanted to evaluate and adopt to Vaadin primarily because of the possibililty of developing the entire PWA with Java (server-side components only). I have a gradle multi-project (also on springboot 2) that implements and expose all APIs to front end applications. For that reason, I wanted to start with Vaadin on gradle with springboot as well.

I used base-starter-spring-gradle to jumpstart my evaluation work. with no changes, when i run the project with gradle bootRun, everything works well and as expected.

I wanted to test running as bootJar (so I can ship this own process/VM). So I follow the instruction on github readme with the command gradle build && java -jar build/libs/base-starter-spring-gradle*.jar. The gradle build states successful however when springboot starts up, I find the following errors on the console.

Failed to find the following imports in the `node_modules` tree:
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/datepickerConnector.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/contextMenuConnector-es6.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/comboBoxConnector.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/ironListConnector.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/timepickerConnector.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/comboBoxConnector-es6.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/ironListStyles.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/selectConnector.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/vaadin-big-decimal-field.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/contextMenuConnector.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/gridConnector.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/flow-component-renderer.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/gridConnector-es6.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/dndConnector-es6.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/ironListConnector-es6.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/menubarConnector.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/vaadin-grid-flow-selection-column.js
      - @vaadin/flow-frontend/dndConnector.js