Why go from Gwt to Vaadin 7?

Hi,

My background is a world-wide company with European based servers and clients around all over the world.
We currently use GWT (last version) extensively for our back office web applications.

We’ll now start a round of new web back offices to be used world-wide, and I’ve seen a lot of vibe around Vaadin 7 + GWT.

What exactly do I have to win to move for this solution, instead of using pure GWT??

From my naive point of view (studying Vaadin architecture for the past days) Vaadin provide a thin client opposing to the GWT fat clients… Does any one has the experience of serving Vaadin web application around the world, and if it works OK, or if it lags because of network issues?

Thanks in advance for all the help, discussion, and lets see if I get convinced to move to this solution :wink:

Regards

Look here:

https://vaadin.com/gwt

For us the following two factors where important to use vaadin:

• The business logic is running on the servers and not on client computers.
    This is much more secure (in different aspects) than to have all the logic on the client computers
    https://vaadin.com/web/joonas/wiki/-/wiki/Main/RIA+Security

• It also integrates databinding, showing/transfering only parts of datasets to the client etc.
    No need to implements rest/soap or whatever to bind GWT to the server backend

André.

I think the question was about only using the gwt classes inside Vaadin, in comparison to pure GWT. Your question answers more why use Vaadin instead of GWT.

As you may or may not know, Google has moved the ownership of GWT away from solely Google, to a commitee that steers GWT development. Google is one member of the commitee. Vaadin is another. There are plenty more.

Here are some reasons to pop into mind about why you may enjoy using Vaadin’s GWT over pure GWT. I’m in no sense an expert on the issue.