How and where are front-end resources generated?

I am new to Vaadin and am playing around with a Gradle-based Vaadin/Spring Boot starter project. Here’s my full build.gradle:

buildscript {
    repositories {
        mavenCentral()
    }
    dependencies {
        classpath("org.springframework.boot:spring-boot-gradle-plugin:2.1.0.RELEASE")
    }
}

plugins {
    id 'java-library'
}

apply plugin: 'org.springframework.boot'

repositories {
    mavenLocal()
    mavenCentral()
    jcenter()
}

dependencies {
    compile(
        'ch.qos.logback:logback-classic:1.2.3'
        ,'org.slf4j:jul-to-slf4j:1.7.25'
        ,'org.apache.commons:commons-lang3:3.7'
        ,'commons-io:commons-io:2.6'
        ,'org.apache.commons:commons-text:1.2'
        ,'com.google.guava:guava:23.0'
        ,'com.vaadin:vaadin-spring-boot-starter:13.0.8'
        ,'org.springframework.boot:spring-boot-starter-actuator:2.1.0.RELEASE'
        ,'org.springframework.boot:spring-boot-starter-data-jpa:2.1.0.RELEASE'
        ,'com.h2database:h2:1.4.197'
    )

}

sourceCompatibility = 1.8
targetCompatibility = 1.8
String buildName = 'vaadin-spring-example'

jar {
    baseName = buildName
}

When I run ./gradlew clean bootJar that Gradle packages up a self-contained executable JAR for me at build/libs/vaadin-spring-example.jar. If I then run that JAR via java -Dspring.config=. -jar build/libs/vaadin-spring-example.jar it starts up without any issues and I can see my app load up at http:localhost:8080 without any issues.

My question is: at what point does Vaadin generate front-end resources (HTML/JS/CSS) for me? Is it happening during that bootJar task, or does it happen on the fly the first time the app is requested by a user?

Hi.

The frontend resources come through vaadin-spring-boot-starter which depends on vaadin-core that brings with it the org.webjars.bowergithub.vaadin jars which contain the frontend resources for the components themselves.