Vaadin Spring Boot Starter throws MalformedParameterizedTypeException on ap

Hi, I’m a Spring Boot backend developer who is trying to ease his way in to Vaadin. I love the concept and as I understand it, Vaadin has a lot in commmon with GWT, which I used on several projects years ago.

I’m trying to get a Spring Boot app to use Vaadin, primarily because I loath front-end/JS/HTML coding and love the idea that Vaadin wil generate all the front-end “stuff” for me.

I created a simple [Spring Boot & Vaadin project]
(https://github.com/bitbythecron/vaadin-spring-example) and uploaded it to GitHub. From what I can tell, I may have discovered a bug in the Vaadin Spring Boot Starter library. In that GitHub example, I’m pretty sure that I’ve pulled in the correct versions of the correct dependencies to get a simple starter app up and running, however on app startup I get this:

java.lang.reflect.MalformedParameterizedTypeException: null
	at sun.reflect.generics.reflectiveObjects.ParameterizedTypeImpl.validateConstructorArguments(ParameterizedTypeImpl.java:58)
	at sun.reflect.generics.reflectiveObjects.ParameterizedTypeImpl.<init>(ParameterizedTypeImpl.java:51)
	at sun.reflect.generics.reflectiveObjects.ParameterizedTypeImpl.make(ParameterizedTypeImpl.java:92)
	at sun.reflect.generics.factory.CoreReflectionFactory.makeParameterizedType(CoreReflectionFactory.java:105)
	at sun.reflect.generics.visitor.Reifier.visitClassTypeSignature(Reifier.java:140)
	at sun.reflect.generics.tree.ClassTypeSignature.accept(ClassTypeSignature.java:49)
	at sun.reflect.generics.repository.MethodRepository.getReturnType(MethodRepository.java:68)
	at java.lang.reflect.Method.getGenericReturnType(Method.java:255)
	at org.springframework.core.MethodParameter.getGenericParameterType(MethodParameter.java:382)
	at org.springframework.core.SerializableTypeWrapper$MethodParameterTypeProvider.getType(SerializableTypeWrapper.java:337)