RouterLayout causing page refresh?

Hi all,
I’m quite new to Vaadin, using Vaadin 13 with Chrome on OpenJDK 11/64 under Windows 7 and TomEE 8…
I did an ApplicationLayout within a RouterLayout class called MyApplicationLayout, implementing “Nested Layouts in Flow” according to the “official” tutorial (by Sven, great stuff!). Calling this from various components with @Route(value=“abc”, layout=MyApplicationLayout.class) works exactly as hoped for but for one observation:

• The page flickers. It gets refreshed after each URL change.

Is this “to be expected” or did I miss something? It goes without saying that this behaviour badly hampers user experience…
Any help greatly appreciated!
Kind regards, Bernhard
PS: I’ve just learned from this forum that chrome does not accept cookies from localhost, so I tried 127.0.0.1:8080 instead… same effect.

Hi Bernhard,

I suspect its not meant to behave like that :slight_smile:

Have you tried it in another browser? Same effect?

Do you have any code in the navigation events?

Stuart

Hi,

I think your problem is when you navigate from one route to another route with a different layout, then the page is refreshed.

If you navigate from 2 routes with the same parent layout then the page won’t be refreshed completely.

Is it your use case ?

Thank you for your fast replies!
“Full Page Flicker” occurs in both Chrome 72.0.3626.121 (Official Build) (32-Bit) and Firefox Quantum 58.0.2 64 bit.
Yes, I use the same layout class from two different routes.
It would be great if this could be resolved!
Kind regards,
Bernhard

PS:
To clarify, this is my code structure:

public class ConfigurationApp extends VerticalLayout implements RouterLayout {
	// some local variables
	public ConfigurationApp() {
		AppLayout appLayout = new AppLayout();
		// appmenu goes here...
		VerticalLayout mainLayout = new VerticalLayout();
		HorizontalLayout mainAreaLayout = new HorizontalLayout();
		leftTree = new ...