Vaadin 6 > 7 was a nightmare, now 7 > 8 seems the same?

Hi forum,

I’m not a developer BUT I’m trying to figure out if this is “normal” or if there is something else at fault here.

Moving form 6 > 7 took our develper weeks as much of our code had to be re-writen :frowning:

Now we can’t move from 7 > 8 as again it’s giving us major errors. We need improved UI and hence moving to 8 would be good.

Apparantly it’s todo with BeanItemContainer that is no longer used in 8. The API has been removed?

I’m keen to get some feedback and or suggestions on this from the community and try understand if our upgrade challanges are normal?

Onbvioulsy if this is going to happen on evey new Vaadin version we need to look at why we’re using Vaadin :frowning:

To me it simply doesn’t seem right so any broad answers or feedback would be fantastic.

Thank you!
42303.png
42304.java (48.2 KB)

Hi

Have you checked “Using The Compatibility Packages” section here:

https://vaadin.com/docs/v8/framework/migration/migrating-to-vaadin8.html

It is recommended to migrate applications with lot of Containers, Tables and other legacy components via so called Compatibily Package. This is optional set of jars in Vaadin 8, basically Vaadin 7 within Vaadin 8.

This way you get functional outcome fairly quickly. And you can do migratio to actual Vaadin 8 classes view by view.

From my experience a migration from 7 to 8 is
much less
troublesome then one from 6 to 7. Most work is replacing the imports with those from compatibility package and within any reasonable IDE that tends to be just a few keystrokes/clicks.

True, but compability isn’t the same as converted. Many apps have a large number of views, tables, etc. and eventually they all need to be reworked. And our concern is that Vaadin 10 is right around the corner, and it seems quite different. If we have to suffer redoing all our views for 8, we have stalled our upgrades wondering if we shouldn’t look to do a UI overhaul and go to 10 directly.