ICE faces Push server integration with GWT available

ICEfaces has been developing a push server for a long time. Now it’s been released for non ICEfaces integrations. The available link includes integration bundles for GWT, Wicket, SpringMVC, Javascript, jQuery and Protorype.

Push wiki

The ICEfaces push server works fine. Current release is in Alpha 3, but the base Push server has been working for a long time. Probably Vaadin could integrate it.

Aniceto

Can someone provide some input on how hard this would be to integrate into vaadin on our own, in case we want this functionality? From what I read on the forums and book of vaadin, I know other gwt ui widgets aren’t too hard to integrate. Is that the case with this one? Vaadin newbie here still trying to learn the ropes

Thanks.

Given that ICESoft has licensed ICEPush with MPL, this is a really interesting idea because the technology has been used with technically rather similar UI framework (ICEFaces) in the past. Still, it would be really interesting to understand the motivation for ICESoft for releasing ICEPush and integrations for competing technologies like (Wicket, GWT, …). Any ideas?

Also does anyone have experience on how well ICEPush scales and what it requires on the server-side? Any estimates on the code-side (JavaScript) on the client?

I think you should check out
the ICEPush add-on for Vaadin
I just created (still very experimental). Seems to work very well actually!

Wow… That was fast.

Unfortunately the demo is down:

javax.servlet.ServletException: Failed to load application class: org.vaadin.artur.icepush.demo.IcepushdemoApplication
	com.vaadin.terminal.gwt.server.ApplicationServlet.init(ApplicationServlet.java:71)
	org.apache.catalina.valves.ErrorReportValve.invoke(ErrorReportValve.java:102)
	org.apache.catalina.valves.AccessLogValve.invoke(AccessLogValve.java:568)
	org.apache.catalina.connector.CoyoteAdapter.service(CoyoteAdapter.java:286)