ComboBox, SQLContainers and Foreign Keys

Hi,

I’m new to Vaadin and newish to Java. I’m struggling with the creation of a Combobox that utilises SQLContainers for its data source. I have two SQL tables (products and categories). The products table references the categories table using a category_id. I’m therefore adding a reference between the containers.

SQLContainer productContainer = null;
    TableQuery q1 = new TableQuery("products", DBConnection.getInstance().getConnectionPool());
    q1.setVersionColumn("version");
    try {
          productContainer = new SQLContainer(q1);
          } catch (SQLException e) {
                 // TODO Auto-generated catch block
                 e.printStackTrace();
          }

SQLContainer categoryContainer = null;
    TableQuery q2 = new TableQuery("categories", DBConnection.getInstance().getConnectionPool());
    q2.setVersionColumn("version");
    try {
          categoryContainer = new SQLContainer(q2);
          } catch (SQLException e) {
                 // TODO Auto-generated catch block
                 e.printStackTrace();
          }

categoryContainer.addReference(productContainer, "category_id", "category_id");

I then create the combobox as follows:

ComboBox categoryField = new ComboBox("Select product category");
          categoryField.setContainerDataSource(categoryContainer);
          categoryField.setInputPrompt("No category selected");
          categoryField.setItemCaptionPropertyId("title");
          categoryField.setItemCaptionMode(ItemCaptionMode.PROPERTY);
          categoryField.setRequired(true);
          categoryField.setWidth(100.0f, Unit.PERCENTAGE);
          categoryField.setFilteringMode(FilteringMode.CONTAINS);
          categoryField.setImmediate(true);
          fieldGroup.bind(categoryField, "category_id");
          categoryField.setNullSelectionAllowed(false);
          addComponent(categoryField);

categoryField.addValueChangeListener(new Property.ValueChangeListener() {