package libaries jars in separate jar from main war

I use maven in Eclipse to package my application. I would like to separate the libary jars from the main application war… So basically, when maven thinks it is needed:

1. Build application war
  2. Build jar with all jar that currently in war so I can put it in the tomcat lib directory

My libraries don’t change that often, and there is a good chance I will have multiple tomcat webapps pointing to the same war file ( via $TOMCAT/conf/Catalina/localhost/.xml ). As such, it would be nice the be able to share these libraries. Saves space and cuts down on download time ( because of reduced size of war file ). I am a maven newbie, so might be missing something obvious. If this is type of maven question that you guys don’t feel comfortable answering, maybe tell me sort of what to ask in those maven communities.

Thanks.

Ok, maybe I am looking at this the wrong way. How do people normally separate out the libraries so that the WAR file is not so big and the common libraries can be shared?

The only way I can think to do this would be multiple steps:

1. Exclude “jar” files from war in pom.xml, just like we exclude unnecessary GWT stuff, using “” tag
  2. Write some script or maybe maven can do this: report jars changed or added since last build

Is there a better way? Is there a way to do step 2 in maven?

if this is explained in some Vaadin documenation that I just missed, point me in the right direction, with my appologies.

Hi,

I’m not sure if doing so is a good idea, but the

provided

scope may help:

provided

This is much like compile, but indicates you expect the JDK or a container to provide the dependency at runtime. For example, when building a web application for the Java Enterprise Edition, you would set the dependency on the Servlet API and related Java EE APIs to scope provided because the web container provides those classes.

Just make sure you don’t end up in a
JAR Hell
:wink: