Simplest RPC call maven application, how to

HI guys, I’d like to start from the basics if I may please. I’ve read a few tutorial here and there and I’ve just created a test application with probably the simplest RPC calls you can possibly have (basically I want to use the RPC call to call a method to print a string).
I’m using Eclipse and I’ve created a maven project, loosely based on this tutorial and the following ones
http://bit.ly/1rgtaw7
but things are not working very well (forgive me but I’m new to vaadin and still learning java).
This is the structure of my project, including packages:

src/main/java -test_proj.rpc_1 -MyComponent.java -MyUI.java -test_proj.rpc_1.client -MyComponentClientRpc.java -MyComponentServerRpc.java -MyComponentConnector.java -MyComponentWidget.java src/main/resources -test_proj -rpc_1 -MyAppWidgetset.gwt.xml Right, so here is the content of the classes.
MyComponent.java: implements and registers the RPC interface

package test_proj.rpc_1; import test_proj.rpc_1.client.MyComponentServerRpc; import com.vaadin.ui.AbstractComponent; import com.vaadin.ui.TextField; public class MyComponent extends AbstractComponent { public String text = ""; private MyComponentServerRpc rpc = new MyComponentServerRpc() { @Override public void setString(String myString) { System.out.println("setString() called. myString is " + myString); } }; public MyComponent() { registerRpc(rpc); System.out.println("MyComponent called"); final TextField name = new TextField(); name.setCaption("another label."); } } MyComponentClientRpc.java: still empty at the moment as I’m not sure what goes in it

package test_proj.rpc_1.client;
import com.vaadin.shared.communication.ClientRpc;
public interface MyComponentClientRpc extends ClientRpc
{
}

MyComponentServerRpc.java: contains the abstract method I want the RPC call to use: