Can't edit Spacing between components in VerticalLayout

I’m still learning, and am very much inexperienced to both java and vaadin, so sorry for the stupid question. Also I made the label background white on purpose to try to see what was causing the gap. I don’t think it’s the label because it isn’t stretched to fill up the gap.

But I’m having trouble with this. I have a label component and a grid. I have this really crazy gap between them

However after looking at the book of vaadin, I learned I can use firebug to help me figure out what is going on. I found this code:

<div style="height: 33.3333%; margin-top: 0px;" class="v-slot v-slot-TitleLabel">

If I change this to 10% in Firebug. I don’t have a horrifying gap anymore:

But if I go to my .scss file and add this:

.v-slot .v-slot-TitleLabel{
        height: 10%;
    }

and run my program, it doesn’t work. I do have @Theme(“myTheme”) in my UI class.

Is this even possible in VerticalLayout or do I need to use GridLayout? or something else to get this to work?

Ok I think I found part of the problem, but it doesn’t solve my issue specifically.

My code:
VerticalLayout layout = new VerticalLayout(); layout.setSizeFull(); layout.addStyleName("backgroundColor"); layout.setMargin(true); layout.addComponent(titleLabel); layout.addComponent(grid); layout.addComponent(btnsendToAS400); What causes the issue is the layout.setSizeFull(); part. If I use layout.setSizeFull() then I get the terrible gaps, and I also cannot resize my grid height.

But if I take off the setSizeFull(); the CSS for my background layout and everything doesn’t display properly. However, my components no longer have gaps between them. So that’s something good at least.

Hi,
this effect typically occurs when the height settings are inconsistent. In this case vaadin resorts to giving all components equal heights, i.e. 33 % in your case. The browser console might display a message.