Wait cursor/threading?

My first Vaadin app is coming along. Slowly, but at least it’s coming along. A new wrinkle: I’d like to have a “wait” cursor or spinner to appear during a long database call. Take the following scenario:

The TreeTable above shows March 7th’s jobs. I have it wired up so that if you click on a day in the calendar at the bottom, the TreeTable updates to show all the jobs that ship on that date. This means retrieving data from a linked-up SQL Server, which takes a good couple of seconds.

During this time there is no indication to the user that data is being retrieved. I would like to change that. How can this be done? I’ve heard that, to do this, I must spawn a new thread. Yet I’ve also heard that spawning background threads is a big no-no with Java EE, difficult with Servlets, and Tomcat doesn’t have a thread pool that is usable. (Please bear in mind that I am still learning. i.e., I don’t really even know how to spawn threads in Java.)

Hi, let’s soften that wrinkle :wink:

Any time you have to perform a long-running task it’s a good idea to execute it in a separate thread. In your case using Java threads directly sounds like a good fit.

In Vaadin applications, when your listener (e.g.
ClickListener
or
ValueChangeListener
) gets invoked you can do the following:

1. Add a spinner to the UI. An indeterminate
    ProgressIndicator
    is a good option:
    progressIndicator.
    setIndeterminate(true)
  2. Run the long-running task in a separate thread. At this point the first thread (the one invoking the listener) finnishes and the user is able to see the spinner.
  3. Once the “separate thread” complete the long-running task, remove the spinner with the help of the

UI.access(Runnable)

method.

Check out
this example