Session depends on Browser?

Greetings!

I’m new to Vaadin and trying to figure out how the Session Management works. While playing around with the AddressBook example application I noted that if I reload the page in browser my session is handled differently depending on am I running it from inside the Eclips or it is deployed to the Tomcat (as war file). Moreover, I noted it works differently depending on the browser I used.

What I did: after running AddressBook I added a new contact, change sort order, and things like that. Then I reload the page in browser, got the following:

• If application has been started from the Eclipse (though in external browser) then the session is kept, all my changes in the application are preserved, I continue from the same point where I reloaded the page;
  • If application is deployed to the Tomcat and is running directly - then it depends on browser used. The session is preserved in Firefox, but on other browsers - Chrome, Safari, IE9, Opera - application is completely restarted, loosing all the changes.

According to Book of Vaadin the session should be preserved even if page is reloaded, unless ?restartApplication parameter is added, but it’s not.

Could somebody please explain me why this is happening? Is there a way to handle this? I mean to preserve the session not depending on the browser used?

I’m sorry if this already been asked, but I couldn’t find similar thread.

Thank you!

The session should always be preserved when reloading the page in the browser. In your case, I’d guess the problem is related to the cookies used to keep track of the session.

You could compare the HTTP cookie headers in responsens and requests between Firefox (using the Net panel in Firebug) and in e.g. Chrome (using the Network section in the Inspector) to find clues to what’s causing the difference between the browsers and between the deployment approaches.

Hi Leif and thanks a lot for your advise.