Suggestions for the Addon Process

Hi,
Firstly, thanks all at Vaadin for producing an amazing tool, and even more so for the addon contributors for doing such an amazing job to extend Vaadin in so many useful ways.

Secondly, I’m relatively new to Vaadin, so if my comments are already handled elsewhere, forgive the duplication, but if they are, they are not very visible, to me at least.

Lastly, I’m not sure where to put these ideas, so for lack of a better place, I’m putting them here.

Here are my suggestions:

• Provide an update e-mail option when an addon you’re using gets updated
  • Have some form of standard addon package naming structure

For the first point, I think it would be very useful to be able to “subscribe” to an addon, so if it is updated we can either get an e-mail, or equally good, a message next time we sign on that these addons have been updated.

This comes from the fact that any resonably sized webapp will use quite a few addons, I’m averaging about 5-6 “must haves” for all applications and then specific addons for given sites needs.

On the second point, I would suggest just like Addons are “Certified, Stable, Experimental, etc.” there should be some form of agreed convention of package naming. Some developers do: org.vaaddin.addon. some do org.vaadin. some give the addon completely different names.

This makes it very hard to pull in the right imports when coding. I generally import specifically each class I use, since from way back when that was the recommended approach for efficiency of memory and execution. Eclipse does a great job of figuring out what to import, but even so, it is not “professional” in feel. Just my hang up I guess, but it makes Vaadin look more fragmented than it first appears.