GeoLocation component

Hi,

I created a simple wrapper for the
GeoLocation API
as a Vaadin component.

Check it out for yourself:

Licensed under the Apache License 2.0.

Currently the only browsers supporting the GeoLocation API that I know of are Firefox 3.5+ and (at least some versions) of the Mobile Safari (on iPhone/iPod touch).

Hello, I’m new to Vaadin and I need to integrate the Google maps API.
I wonder if creating the addon for you is possible to create routes from point A to B.

If possible I would appreciate help, it would be a very useful guide since importing the addon to some code of how to use.

I use Netbeans + Vaadin (6.7.4)

Sorry I’m English, my English is basic, google translator helped me rsrsrs.
I’m from Brazil.

Thank you.

I got surprising behavior on a MacBook (running Lion 10.7.3) using the Safari browser.

I tried the demo:
http://teemu.virtuallypreinstalled.com/GeoLocation

The demo puts my location precisely where I was yesterday, in a house in Seattle. But today at this moment I am using a wifi at a library on Lopez Island in Puget Sound. That’s 100 miles away.

In contrast, Google Chrome 17 browser showed my correct location.

The problem is not with the add-on component. I tried the geolocation button on the web page:
http://maps.google.com/
in both Safari & Chrome. Same behavior: Safari has yesterday’s location, while Chrome is correct.

Any idea how the geolocation works on a Mac without any real GPS? Isn’t it based on the current wifi? Why would Safari be confused but not Chrome?

–Basil Bourque

Hi,

I’m not familiar with the exact details but the used wifi network surely has some effect. This can be easily verified by comparing results with AirPort on and off. I would guess that the IP address is also used to get a coarse location.

• Teemu

Hi,

I have tried the addon which works great in IE 9.0.

I noticed in Firefox 13.0 the browser does not respond on the ‘send current location’ button click.