Vaadin + Intellij community edition.

Hey,

I’ve written a Vaadin app in eclipse before to great satisfaction. However recently I tried out intellij and ended up deciding to stick with it. Now I want to build another Vaadin app, this time in intellij.

I’m a hobbyist and a new father. I do not have 500 euro’s to spare for the ultimate edition.
I have tried the gradle route and gotten a simple app running. But intellij is so poorly integrated with it that running, stopping, restarting are all a chore.

I presume others are in the same situation. How have you solved it and are there any sample projects that I can pick through to learn the tricks?

Kind regards
Wouter

I add all the jars manually to projects that use vaadin - in NetBeans.
You could do the same with JetBrains …

I have, and this allows me to compile the code and build a war file. But vaadin works in combination with a webserver like tomcat, and I find that the integration with tomcat in the community edition is lacking.

How do you run your app in tomcat in your development environment?

In Netbeans, you can define the server in the menu Tools | Servers.
Then just hit the ‘Run’ or ‘Debug’ icon.
Not sure if JetBrains has this server menu.
. . .
Otherwise, you can deploy to Tomcat.
http://localhost:8080/

Then go to “Manager App”, Login to Tomcat.
Browse for the WAR and install it.

I’m afraid the server menu isn’t there in the community edition.

And I could deploy war’s to tomcat. But that’s not the short edit/compile/debug cycle I was hoping for.

Thank you kindly for taking the time to suggest some answers though :slight_smile:

From a quick google search it sounds like your only option would be to use maven in the community edition:

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/22047860/tomcat-in-intellij-idea-community-edition