Very Strange JavaScript/Vaadin issue

Hey, I am new to Vaadin and I am having some difficulty adding some client-side javascript, the weird part is everything works when I add an alert() and breaks when I take it away.

init is the Vaadin component and the label search contains an HTML table of the data I want to search using list.js

Label search  = new Label(searchIdentity(),ContentMode.HTML);
    Label message = new Label("MessageBox",ContentMode.HTML);

@Override
    protected void init(VaadinRequest request) {
        final VerticalLayout layout = new VerticalLayout();
        layout.setMargin(true);
        setContent(layout);
        String script = "try{var fileref=document.createElement('script');";
        script += "fileref.setAttribute(\"type\",\"text/javascript\");";
        script += "fileref.setAttribute(\"src\", \"http://listjs.com/no-cdn/list.js\");";
        script += "document.getElementsByTagName(\"head\")[0]
.appendChild(fileref);}catch(e){alert(e);}";
        layout.addComponent(search);
        Page.getCurrent().getJavaScript().execute(script);
        Page.getCurrent().getJavaScript().execute("var options = {valueNames: ['name', 'email', 'organization']
}; var userList = new List('users', options);");
    }

public String searchIdentity(){
        String htmlResponse = "<div id='users'><input class='search' placeholder='Search' />";

htmlResponse += "<table><thead><tr><th data-sort='name'>Name</th><th data-sort='email'>Email</th><th data-sort='organization'>Organization</th></tr></thead>";
        htmlResponse += "<tbody class='list'>";
        myPerson[] personArray = getPersons();
        for (myPerson person : personArray) {
            htmlResponse += "<tr>";
            htmlResponse += "<td class='name'><a href='/view-identity?id=" + person.getId() + "'>" + person.getName().getGiven() + " " + person.getName().getSurname() + "</a></td>";
            htmlResponse += "<td class='email'>" + person.getEmail() + "</td>";