Validation Woes.

Hi all.

Im still relatively new to vaadin, and Ive been struggling to get field validation working as i want it… Which almost certainly means im doing it wrong.

In our app we have a view where several of the fields are semantically linked to each other. They are either all valid, or all invalid, depending on the individual values entered into each field. I would like to mark all fields as invalid as soon as one of the fields has a value entered that makes the group invalid. Also the group can become valid again by changing a value in a different field.

The simplest Example i can think of is a number range with a start and end value. if start > end i want to mark both fields invalid. the user can correct the range by either making start less than end, or by making end greater than start. at which point both fields should be marked as valid.

It is fairly simple to use a custom Validator to check if an individual field should be marked invalid, with something like

start = new TextField();
    start.setImmediate(true);
    start.addValidator(new Validator() {
        @Override
        public void validate(Object value) throws InvalidValueException {
            if (!validRange((String) value, end.getValue())) {
                throw new InvalidValueException("Invalid Range.");
            }
        }
    });

end = new TextField();
    end.setImmediate(true);
    end.addValidator(new Validator() {
        @Override
            if (!validRange(start.getValue(), (String) value)) {
            }
        }
    });

I am struggling with triggering the validation of the other fields, and having their valid / invalid state updated in the display.