VOL: Open Layers Add-on - Filtering WFS layers?

Hello all,

Its’ great that OpenLayers wrapper has been implemented for Vaadin. I’m starting to use it and it seems awesome!

I am a newbie and maybe this question is stupid, but I’m trying to use filtering in WFS in a similar way as done in WMS (see post below).

https://vaadin.com/forum/-/message_boards/view_message/442699

Is it possible? The filtering should be either CQL or with openlayers filters. For example:

new OpenLayers.Layer.Vector("WFS", {
                strategies: [new OpenLayers.Strategy.BBOX()]
                protocol: new OpenLayers.Protocol.WFS({
                    url:  "http://demo.opengeo.org/geoserver/wfs",
                    featureType: "tasmania_roads",
                    featureNS: "http://www.openplans.org/topp"
                }),
                styleMap: new OpenLayers.StyleMap({
                    strokeWidth: 3,
                    strokeColor: "#333333"
                }),
                filter: new OpenLayers.Filter.Logical({
                    type: OpenLayers.Filter.Logical.OR,
                    filters: [
                        new OpenLayers.Filter.Comparison({
                            type: OpenLayers.Filter.Comparison.EQUAL_TO,
                            property: "TYPE",
                            value: "highway"
                        }),
                        new OpenLayers.Filter.Comparison({
                            type: OpenLayers.Filter.Comparison.EQUAL_TO,
                            property: "TYPE",
                            value: "road"
                        })
                    ]
                })
            })

Thanks in advance!

Sergio

Hi,

I’m clad you like it.

I have never used WFS servers myself (except in some demos and test) and don’t remember directly if there is currently filtering support available. I do remember that WMS layer has such a feature, so if it is missing from WFS I bet it should be quite easy to add.