Vaadin Roadmap: Seeking planning advice

Vaadin and community,

I’ve been using Vaadin now for 5 years or so. Vaadin 7.0. SQL table query. Ivy. setImmediate(true), whatever that is. All the latest stuff. My one and only Vaadin project is my “Hello World” project. No previous coding experience. 50 UIs, 150K lines, hundreds of class files. I’ve followed the train now up to Vaadin 8.7.2, Java 12, Eclipse 2019-03 etc. My project is in commercial operation, dispatching aircraft all over Southern Ontario in Canada. Overall, Vaadin has been great - it has enabled an idea based on business logic to become a working multi-user enterprise system.

But there has been pain. Table query is no longer the state of the art apparently. Maven is the golden haired boy, Ivy terrible now. Yup, I’ve endured all the transitions, one by one, to DataProviders, parameterized grids… The conversion to V8 consumed ~3 months.

So now I stand at the the edge of the grand canyon, with Vaadin 13 on the other side. Deep breath, wondering which year of my life I’d most like to sacrifice. 2020? 2021? One of them has to go. I’m not complaining - progress is progress and this is life in a fast-changing software business.

But I would be greatly aided by visibility of a roadmap that minimizes the disruptions going forward. For example:

1. If I select Maven, with whispering Gradle voices in the background, will I again be using the “old” build/dependency system in a few months? What do the crystal balls in Finland say? Will Maven or Gradle or something else be the favourite 5 years from now?