Trees, Tree Tables, and Grids ... oh my

Hi everyone,

Background

I’m a Vaadin noob coming from Adobe Flex and am trying to figure things out so bear with me. I have a database, let’s say it is MySQL, with the following table structure.

State | City | NumericValue | and so on…

Sample Data

Virginia | City1 | 23
Virginia | City2 | 16
Maryland | City1 | 56
Maryland | City2 | 72
Maryland | City3 | 25
Texas | City1 | 14
Florida | City1 | 19
Florida | City2 | 26

Objective

What I would like to do is display the content in a grid/table format with the following.

1. Group by State where the City with the highest NumericValue is displayed and all other cities are rolled up. The content changes so on the next update, the row would change so that the city with the highest value is always displayed.
  2. The row needs to have a color based on the NumericValue. I assume this is handled by CSS/SASS.
  3. The row needs to have a context menu.
  4. Double clicking the row needs to be actionable.

So using the sample data from earlier, the first criteria would have a table that looks like this…

Virginia | City1 | 23
Maryland | City2 | 72
Texas | City1 | 14
Florida | City2 | 26

As the content changes, specifically the NumericValue, the visible row will have the city with the highest value displayed with the cities having a lower value as a subrow (if that is the proper name). Hopefully that explains the first objective.

Question

Given the objectives listed above, which UI component is the proper one to use? Initially I thought the Grid component was the right choice, but I cannot find any grouping capabilities. Then I thought the Tree Table component was the one to use, but the database does not have a parent-child relationship (it is implied). So I am stuck; which UI is right and where can I find an example?

Thanks, Dave

By your objectives, you seem to be envisioning a pivot table. I don’t think any of the Vaadin UI components will support that directly.