Should I chose Vaadin if so then Vaadin 7.0 ? or just start with 6.8

Hi Vaadin Forum

My Question is to Expert members of Vaadin.

I am new To Vaadin. I study a littel bit About Vaadin.
I came here to Know from Vaadin experts that I am a final year Student Of BIT . I want to implement my final year Project. My project is a web based application for a Company. I need lot of AJAX and java scripting to give liquid effect to my app…Also I need extensive Data handling and Lot of Security with My APP.

Some people saying Vaadin is not a mature Frame Work. It is Not Secure. so avoid it. But

I want to know From you guys that should i start my Project in Vaadin ? if so then should I wait for Vaadin 7.0 or just start with 6.8.latest build…

Thanks.
Sara Sheikh.

Strange comments from those “some people”.

One of the strong points of Vaadin is security - because it abstracts cleanly away from web and keeps all you conde on the server-side, it is probably the most secure RIA framework on the market at the moment.

Vaadin has been around and in production use since 2001. Few other web frameworks can show as long history behind it as Vaadin.

That is a really good question with no correct answer. We are expecting to see Vaadin 7 beta 1 in few weeks and Vaadin 7 released in 7 weeks or so. This makes it tempting for a project to start with Vaadin 7.

That said - there are still quite a few rough edges in Vaadin 7 and documentation quality will be lacking behind Vaadin 6 quite a lot even after Vaadin 7 release. Furthermore - many of the add-ones are not yet available for Vaadin 7.

You you want to live on the bleeding edge, choose Vaadin 7. If you want to get your project done and can live without all the new shiny bells and whistles of Vaadin 7, go with Vaadin 6. We are planning to maintain it for almost 2 more years.

Mr. Joonas Lehtinen thanks for your detailed Ans.

“Some People” are My project Supervisors.