Rich Text in form

Hi there,

I am pretty new to vaadin and had a look at the following example http://demo.vaadin.com/sampler/#Components/TextFields/RichTextEditor.
I tried to reproduce it but with the RichText in a form component.

In the original example, the inherited replaceComponent() method is used to toggle between Label (non editable) and RichTextArea (editable).

The Form class does not have a replaceComponent() method, is there a best practice to solve that ?

thanks in advance

N.

I got one solution in mind but I don’t know if it is the most optimal.

You can do if-clauses in a FormFieldFactory that checks if the field should be a label or a richtextarea. The beanitem could have a field for this. Then you just have to trigger a run of the fieldfactory. One way is to give the beanitem to the form again after the change. I’d guess there are other ways but can’t come up with any right now.

Not the neatest solution.

If your form doesn’t contain that many components I would suggest ditching the form altogether and manually building the components.

Hi Jens,

tanks for your answer but I am not sure to get your point …

I agree I could put a test in the factory to decide what should be returned based on any variable but I cannot return a Label because it is not a Field.
Even by building the form myself (without a factory) I won’t be able to put a Label in there.

Do you have any other solution ?

Nicolas

Some questions for your form, (compare your needs to Samplers demo):
Do you need more flexible layout? Not just components stacked vertically. Maybe captions in custom positions, sections in form, pages perhaps…
Do you need different validation? Maybe showing more info next to invalid field or you want to disable some parts before some inputs are valid.
Do you need custom help inside form? Maybe showing help-buttons on form sections or just text as in “help within form”.
Do you need dialogs in form?