redundant JSON traffic

I only update the caption on my buttons, yet the traffic in JSON is so much more, although the control was unchanged:
for(;;);[{“changes”:[[“change”,{“format”: “uidl”,“pid”: “PID89”},[“7”,{“id”: “PID89”,“height”: “50px”,“width”: “50px”,“immediate”:true,“caption”: “20”,“v”:{“state”:false}}]
]], “meta” : {}, “resources” : {}, “locales”:}]

all these are redundant:
“height”: “50px”
“width”: “50px”
“immediate”:true

IDK about the rest as i’m not experienced with JSON.

Hi!

Vaadin terminal marks “dirty” parts of the UI at the component level. If a component is modified, all its properties are sent over to the client side. Components may of course do their own caching internally.

We sure could do the same thing at “attribute level” (and sending only caption in your case), but this would add complexity for both the client and the server side terminal of Vaadin. IMO the current solution is quite good compromise among cpu(client and server), memory usage(client and server), transferred data and complexity (which finally affects the quality of the library in terms of bugs and extensibility).

cheers,
matti

I don’t know how the server side is built, i only know i wouldn’t take the top down approach, but the approach in which everything is built based on need, not on the need to write code alone.

When a button’s caption is changed, the smallest set of data needed for the notification of the client is needed.
That is an id of the button beeing addressed, an id for the attribute of the control, and a value. The client’s terminal can do the rest.

When a button is pressed only its id needs be sent over to the server. Click beeing assumed the default control action, because with the id you can determine it’s a button at server side, if you have a client status.