Portal-like layout

I’m an expert user of ExtJs and GXT. Now I’m trying to port an internal application on vaadin with the goal to use it in a new project. One of the component I need to implement is a “Portal-like” layout, a kind of SortableLayout defined in the sampler where the positions are predefined (i.e. GridLayout) and the drag-and-drop action produce a swap of the components involved.

An example explaining what I mean may be found here:
http://www.sencha.com/examples/explorer.html#portal

Do anybody solved this problem? any hint on how to make it?

Many thanx in advance
Massimo

There is no such Vaadin layout available at the moment as far as I know. The development version of the Visual Designer does such component rearranging and much more, but is also much more complex and not designed to be used as a part of a running end user application.

The layout in your example is not really like a GridLayout but more like a HorizontalLayout containing VerticalLayouts (components in different columns can have different heights). You could try to implement this with Vaadin drag&drop, putting your components in panels and following an approach similar to that in the
example in Sampler
. I am not sure if you run into complications when doing this e.g. with some events being “caught” before they reach the components, though.

Not a solution, but a bit more far reaching brainstorming idea. In future one could use wysiwyg editor components to build editable portal-like, but more flexible, screen layouting functionality.

See
this unfinished app
where wysiwyg editor has been embedded to a web app. You can add vertical layout to screen, drag components to it and even re-arrange them. This approach could give really powerful editing capabilities to administrators of your portal-like application without actual software development.