OpenLayers Tileserver integration

Hi Folks,
I’m a newbie in the vaadin development and try to use the openlayers add-on to work with my own tiles server. The tiles are rendered from OpenStreetmap sources and are provided by my own Apache webserver.

At first I try to use the MapTilerLayer to access my tiles. Apache delivers a ‘tilemapresource.xml’ I builded from internet examples. In my gui the controls are loaded but there was no request to get only one map tile. Also the server side don’t produce any interesting log output.

My second trail was using the OpenStreetMapLayer. This one looks better and shows me the desired map. But unfortunately it loads the tiles from the OpenStreetMap servers.

The OpenLayers.js file describe a way to “subclass” the OpenLayers.Layer.OSM definition in Javascript to set a new url definition for the desired tiles server. In a former project I use this Javascript way to include my own servers and it worked really fine.

My question is now how is the best way to integrate my OSM like tiles server into my vaadin project?

Thank you for your help :slight_smile:

Hi,

The trick is to use your one script instead of the one hosted from openlayers.org. Then you can modify the script to fetch OSM tiles from your own server instead of the public ones.

Normally with VOL add-on you get this line into your apps widgetset (.gwt.xml file):

<inherits name="org.vaadin.vol.VolWidgetsetWithHostedScript" />

If you need/want to used a custom script replace that with these lines:

<!-- WS Compiler: manually edited -->
<!--  USE THIS IF YOU DON'T WANT TO USE THE HOSTED OL API -->
<inherits name="org.vaadin.vol.VolWidgetset" />

<!-- Version built/modified by you -->
<script src="OpenLayers.js"></script>