Newbie needs help

Hello everybody!

I’m new in Vaadin and in this forum, but I really like Vaadin and I’m planning to use it in a real project. As I’m starting, I’m having some doubts and problems. Hope I may ask you, I’ve searched before for those topics in the forum but I didn’t find an answer.

1º It seemed to me a strange thing that vaadin brought its own web app server if I can run my apps in a Tomcat. Is it because there’s any difference between its server and others? Should I consider anything when deploying my app folder on a normal Tomcat and not in Vaadin server.

2º To create a vaadin app from scratch (like the demo HelloWorld app I downloaded) I must add: the Vaadin servlets description tags in web.xml, the Vaadin Application classes themselves, the Vaadin jar to lib folder and… anything more? Any js file?

3º When I work with GWT I must precompile my java classes to javascript classes, as far as I’ve read in the tutorial I don’t need to do this. I guess this is because all GWT classes are already precompiled when I download Vaadin, but what about if I create new client/js code? When do I precompile my client code?

4º As Vaadin uses GWT and GWT needs to have a server a and a client folder (for server/java and client/javascript) objects, should I need to have this separation in my project?

I’m not being able to do some things in my test project and I hope after reading your answers, I will. Thank you very much. Bye.

sitaro

Many of the questions are answered in the
Book of Vaadin
, but to summarize quickly.

Vaadin applications are normally run on a normal Tomcat or similar application server. You can deploy a Vaadin application on Tomcat as a WAR or, if you use Eclipse, use the “Run on Server…” option and then open the application URL in a browser.

The Vaadin distribution includes Jetty to enable running the demos with a minimum of hassle and to get started quickly, but you do not need to use it if you have some other application server installed.