My Vaadin Experience

Hi everybody,

I am an GWT veteran (2008) and I wanted to check out Vaadin. It can replace the Eclipse RAP in my toolchain since I am very upset with the Eclipse RAP. Its not that RAP is bad, its very good indeed but the Eclipse Way is totally annoying. WTP is a pain to use for me. Always you fiddle with something that should be easy and wont work.

The GWT experience is better. Install, run, use - fine. I can show my clients GWT and they like what they see. The client want’s two things: Job is done, and can expect that the inhouse junior developer is capable to extend and understand the solution.

And what does Vaadin do? Same as RAP. Setup fighting continues. And if you install and try to run it? It will not work out of the box.

I am not stupid. I am a ten years worth Java veteran. I know what I want and I know what I have to do. But I am also not very happy. I throw almost two days at this. I tried it the WTP way (pain as ever) then I switched back to RunJettyRun, which is what I want and need (its instantly, its inside my vm and I understand what it does).

So can someone please help me get the Maven 2 sample project up and working without any errors? And if yes, can someone please correct / update introduce a new version of the achetype? I need to be able to show a client a fresh framework, install vaadin and run a sample application without errors and without fighting configuration. It has to look and be easy or it will not be accepted.

I am used to fight with Eclipse, the inclorious WTP and all those different configuration issues making things difficult that should be easy. Its the same for 5 or 8 years now. Things wont change I guess, but Vaadin should not contribute it. I sold many clients to Google’s GWT since it is so easy to setup (download, install, done) and for Vaadin should be the same.