Many Panels cause bad performance

Hello Community,

I am new to Vaadin and wanted to use it for a new project. I played a little bit with the Framework and like it really much - great thx to the developers!

Now to my problem: I want to make a Panel or something equal which looks and acts like the NewsPanel from GoogleReader (see attached image). I made a horizontal SplitPanel with the navigation on the left side and a VerticalPanel on the right side.

For one NewsEntry (a headline, a link to the article, an icon and the preview text from the RSS/ATOM) I made a NewsEntryPanel which displays the data and has some Buttons (for example like/dislike, or add as favorite). So I added just about 100 NewsEntryPanels to this VerticalPanel on the right side of the SplitPanel.

The result looks like expected but the performance is so bad that you can’t use it (especially when resizing the SplitPanel). Do you have any idea what to do to avoid this?

Thanks for all answers…

Patrick Meier
11295.jpg

We actually also see some browser freezes (Firefox 3.6 for 3-5seconds) when we use too much Panel components on a screen.

We have so far not looked deeper into this problem, but will probably have to do this in the next weeks.

What we do is avoid the Panel component as much as possible and use Vertical/Horizontal layouts as much as possible.

But there are just cases where a Panel is required because of the Scrollbar.

André

Just to let you know, it might actually be the default VerticalLayouts inside the Panel that are causing the bad performance. And Firefox is known to be the slowest of the modern browsers, it has some very slow layout calculations when the DOM hierarchy gets big enough.

So instead of VerticalLayouts, I’m suggesting you try and use CssLayouts as much as possible. You can also check out
DashLayout add-on
, which should perform a little better as well.

Hi,

thanks for your fast replies. I will try the things you suggested…