MainWindow content size problems

Hello, I am new to Vaadin and I am running into an interesting problem. I am running Vaadin application inside a Liferay instance. I want my application to stay within the browser width and height. So after doing some reading, i found that i need to set my MainWindow’s content size to full so i do this.

final Window mainWindow = new Window(name);
        mainWindow.setSizeFull();
        mainWindow.getContent().setSizeFull();
        setMainWindow(mainWindow);

This ends up failing to display anything, versus when i leave it to the default VerticalLayout size (width:100% height:undefined) where everything shows up normal, but vertically it exceeds the browser window, displaying scrollbars.

The Debug window says this:

Any suggestions?

Thanks.

Hello,
I believe the main window is supposed to take the whole browser space, so I would suggest to leave it as is without calling any setSizeXXXX methods. Of course you could call
mainWindow.getContent().setHeight(…)
but I think you will not get any scrollbars unless you tweak the css with some sort of an overflow:auto etc.

If the content of the main window exceeds the browser window height and you don’t want that, then you could use a panel with specific height and then add that to the main window.

i.e.

Panel mainPanel = new Panel();
mainWindow.addComponent(panel);
mainPanel.setHeight("750px");
//then add everything to the mainPanel....

Maybe you are misunderstanding me, but if I leave the main window as is then it will expand beyond the browser height as components are added to it. So my end goal is to have the mainWindow, set its size to the browser window size, and then when the browser size has been changed the window size changes. I can see that what i have now is working because in the debugger, there all calls to format the layout during a window resize.

Hello,
I hope i’m not confused and i’m not confusing you…