Layout Suggestion and Bookmarking Tab

Hi,

I’m new to Vaadin so please bear with me even if this is a simple question. I have a requirement to write a web application, it will be used by 500-800 users and will have a total of 15-20 pages/views. The layout is pretty common with a header and menubar to the top, content in the center and then a footer at the bottom. In the content there should be a fixed space to the left and right and the main details in the middle(a HorizontalLayout with 3 items of 10%,80% and 10%?). Most pages will have a TabSheet for the content while others will have just a regular panel

I have 2 problems with this setup:

1. how do I set it up so that users can bookmark both pages from the MenuBar and from a tab?
  2. In the center I’m using a HorizontalLayout with a VerticalLayout on the left(10%) and then a Panel(80%) and then another VerticalLayout(10%). Why is there a huge space in between the left VerticalLayout and the Panel?

For the Menu bar I’m using the NavigableMenuBar used in the Book examples, so I could bookmark menu items. The question is how to add tabs to the navigator so that we could go directly to a tab

Here is the code for the mainlayout with the spacing issue

HorizontalLayout contentLayout = new HorizontalLayout();
 VerticalLayout leftMarginLayout = new VerticalLayout();
 VerticalLayout rightMarginLayout = new VerticalLayout();
 contentLayout.addComponent(leftMarginLayout);
 leftMarginLayout.setWidth("10%");
 leftMarginLayout.setHeight("100%");
 leftMarginLayout.setSpacing(false);
 contentLayout.setSpacing(false);
 Panel viewDisplay = new Panel();
 contentLayout.addComponent(viewDisplay);
 viewDisplay.setSizeFull();
 contentLayout.setSpacing(false);
 contentLayout.addComponent(rightMarginLayout);
 contentLayout.setExpandRatio(leftMarginLayout, .1f);
 contentLayout.setExpandRatio(viewDisplay, 1.0f);

Is it possible to just get a response for the layout issue? I’m really desperate to fix this

Thank you