Howto validate a generated form field?

Hi

I’m new to Vaadin and I thought I should give it a try after seing a presentation at JFocus yesterday. The manual seem very comprehensive but there seem to be one vital little piece of information missing.

I’m just playing around with a simple form with name, address, zip and country fields. I’m using the method of letting Vaadin generate the form from my bean class.

My problem is that I can’t figure out how to validate the generated form fields?

I’ve tried using a form field factory but the createField method is never called which means that it is never used by the form to create the text fields.

I have pasted my code below, both the Address.java class and the TestApplication.java class.

public class TestApplication extends Application {

@Override
	public void init() {
		Window mainWindow = new Window("Address");

// Create and initialize the address form.
		Form form = new Form();
		form.setCaption("Enter address");
		form.setDescription("Enter your address");
		form.setImmediate(true);
		form.setItemDataSource(new BeanItem<Address>(new Address()));

// Use a form field factory to be able to change the null
		// representation and set validators etc.
		//
		// This code never gets called though!! Why?
		//
		form.setFormFieldFactory(new FormFieldFactory() {
			@Override
			public Field createField(Item item, Object propertyId, Component uiContext) {
				TextField text = new TextField();
				text.setNullRepresentation("");
				text.addValidator(new RegexpValidator("", "String must be at least 1 character long"));
				text.setImmediate(true);
				text.setRequired(true);
				return text; 
			}
		});

// Create the commit button that calls the commit method
		// on the form when clicked.
		Button commitButton = new Button("Commit", form, "commit");

// Add the form and the commit button to the main window.
		mainWindow.addComponent(form);
		mainWindow.addComponent(commitButton);

setMainWindow(mainWindow);
	}
}