How the page flow will be handled?

Hi All,

I am new to IT Mill tool kit. Recently i downloaded and tried with some samples. I was very much impressed with this tool kit.

Now i want to create one sample application with this tool kit. My question is, how to handle the page flow here?

Normally all the web application will be functioning with the page flow technique.

From one page to another page we can move using controls events.

How that can be handled here?

For example i have a login screen. Once i am successfully logged in, i need to move to success screen. How this flow will be handled here?

Could you please give me some hint on this?

This is how you can do it in this specific case:
You can render the success-page into a own layout, and when you notice a successful login you replace the main window layout with the success page.

Say,

getMainWindow().setLayout(successLayout);

Even better if you have made the following page into a CustomComponent (a template for a layout of a page).

replaceCompoent() is another alternative.

Ask for more instructions if you’re still stuck.

An example of how to handle navigation in an application can also be found in the step by step tutorial at

http://www.itmill.com/documentation/

One important thing to notice when creating applications with IT Mill Toolkit is that you shouldn’t think of it as page flow as such - but more of as creating a desktop-application.

So it is a small switch in philosophy compared to other page-oriented frameworks but exactly the same as “desktop” software. (Compare to making e.g. SWING software). So the points given above are valid and is exactly how you create page flow, but getting the best results comes from not thinking of pages as such… Hope you get my point :wink:

Hi Fredu,

I got your point. Till now i have created more web application. Long time back i worked with swing application. If it is single window page application, could you please clarify me one point here.