Help choosing a proper technology

Hi everyone,
I wanted to ask you all a suggestion. I’m a student working on my M.Sc. in computer engineering. My thesis should comprehend two components:

• a web application, that will need a DB for saving users and app related stuff
  • a mobile app (android probably), that will use the application services, ideally through public API calls

Now i was checking what technology to use for the project. I considered GWT+GAE cos i already used it for a project and got to know them pretty good.

But i wouldn’t like to stick too much to Google’s tools, so i came across Vaadin. I’m pretty a noob on this, so now my questions are:

• how hard is exposing some APIs that make use of some app methods, server side? I did it with GWT+GAE and it came pretty simple
  • how can i test a vaadin app online, without having a server that runs apache tomcat? I tried deploying to appengine, but i cannot deploy the vaading app, cos it says the file gwt-dev.jar is too large (in fact it’s 28mb!!)

Thanks for helping!
Cheers
Iacopo

Hi,

IMHO choosing Vaadin for a thesis is a good idea, since you can concentrate on your problem at hand without having to meddle with a whole bunch of intermediate technologies and concepts (AJAX, JavaScript, RPC to name a few).

Now to your questions.

Well, since Vaadin uses GWT as a render technology internally, you’ll be bound to Google even with Vaadin.

This is actually quite easy. You can register a
HttpServletRequestListener