Graphical Status (Traffic-light style) widget?

Hello, I’m new to Vaadin, and I REALLY like what I’ve seen so far!

The real purpose of my thread/question, however, is: Is there some sort of widget that functions as a “traffic light” type of visual indicator to quickly see if something is happening? More detail: I’m looking for a visual status of a task or job that may be running on a different thread; I can get the status successfully, and it returns “true” if the process is running, or “false” if it isn’t. I’d somehow like to turn those two states into a visual indicator in my GUI, like a red circle or rectangle if the process is NOT running (i.e., status is “false”), and a green circle or rectangle if it IS running (i.e. status is “true”).

Is there such a widget out there that handles this already? Or, would it be better to make some sort of custom SCSS/CSS style that does this (if so, an example would be greatly appreciated since I’m NOT a CSS guru).

Many thanks in advance!

It’s pretty easy to do this with normal code + css. Note that if you update the style/status from the background thread itself itself, it will not be automatically “pushed” to the browser unless you are using Vaadin push/refresher plugin/similar.

(NB Code/CSS typed straight into browser, probably some typos in there somewhere)

Cheers,

Charles

Code:
Label statusLabel = new Label("Unknown");
String statusStyle = null;

public void updateStatus(boolean running){

String style = running ? "status-running" : "status-stopped";
  statusLabel.setCaption(running ? "Running" : "Stopped");

if(statusStyle!=null){
   statusLabel.removeStyleName(statusStyle);
  }
  statusStyle = running ? "status-running" : "status-stopped");
  statusLabel.addStyleName(statusStyle);
}

CSS : 

.status-stopped,  .status-runninig {
  color: whitesmoke;
  padding: 4px;
  border-radius: 6px;
}

.status-running {
  background: green;
}

.status-stopped {
  background : red;
}

Sweet! Thank you, sir!