FormLayout , align-items and the shadow-root

Hi,
I am new to Vaadin and a bit overwhelmed.

I am attempting to have a component that has three differently sized components - next to each other, if there is enough room, below each other e.g. for mobile screens. I achieved this using the FormLayout and it works well.
However, the components are using the “align-items:baseline” layout, despite my attempts to configure “align-items:flex-start”.

public class BestiariumCreaturePageTest extends VerticalLayout implements HasUrlParameter<String> {

//-------------------------------------------------------------------
	public BestiariumCreaturePageTest() {
	}

//-------------------------------------------------------------------
	/**
	 * @see com.vaadin.flow.router.HasUrlParameter#setParameter(com.vaadin.flow.router.BeforeEvent, java.lang.Object)
	 */
	@Override
	public void setParameter(BeforeEvent event, String id) {
		// Image
		Image image = new Image("frontend/images/splittermond/stoneimp.png", "Stone Imp");

// Description
		Label desc = new Label();
		desc.setText("Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr, sed diam nonumy eirmod tempor invidunt ut labore et dolore magna aliquyam erat, sed diam voluptua. At vero eos et accusam et justo duo dolores et ea rebum. Stet clita kasd gubergren, no sea takimata sanctus est Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet. Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consetetur sadipscing elitr, sed diam nonumy eirmod tempor invidunt ut labore et dolore magna aliquyam erat, sed diam voluptua. At vero eos et accusam et justo duo dolores et ea rebum. Stet clita kasd gubergren, no sea takimata sanctus est Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet.");
		desc.setSizeFull();

FormLayout layout = new FormLayout();
		layout.getStyle().set("align-items", "flex-start");
		layout.add(new Label("Hello World"));
		layout.add(image);
		layout.add(desc);
		layout.setResponsiveSteps(
		        new ResponsiveStep("21em", 1),
		        new ResponsiveStep("42em", 2),