extending TextField to handle BigDecimal values

Hi everybody,

I need to write a simple server-side class to extend TextField to be able to handle BigDecimal values instead of Strings.
Before starting, I studied some APIs and some Vaadin sources (TextField and DateField), so I’m going to do the following:

a) extending TextField:
public class MyNumberField extends TextField;

b) overriding getType:
public Class<?> getType() {
return BigDecimal.class;
}

c) overriding setValue:
public void setValue(Object newValue) {
if ((newValue != null) && (!(newValue instanceof BigDecimal))) {
throw new IllegalArgumentException(…);
}
super.setValue(newValue);
}

d) overriding getValue to either return a BigDecimal, or null if the field is empty, or an exception (or null?) if the field does not contain a valid BigDecimal.

I’d like to know whether this path is correct.

1. Is there anything else I should do (repainting for example)?
  2. Also, logically speaking, should getValue() return the logical value (a valid BigDecimal) or the display value (a String, representing anything)?

Thanks very much for your precious help.

Marco

1. getValue() should return an instance that is compatible with the type returned by getType() i.e. BigDecimal
  2. AbstractTextField will still send the text value as String and get a String from changeVariables and tries to pass it to setValue() so you should implement setting BigDecimal value from a String.

Thanks Johannes,

one last question please: what’s setInternalValue() for? I mean, in my example, should it be used to store the String value, the BigDecimal one or anything else?

Thanks a lot,

Marco