Does JPAContainer replace the need for DAOs

Hi,

I’m new to Vaadin and am trying to wrap my mind the Vaadin way of doing DB accesses. In my previous non-Vaadin life, I was accustomed to having DAOs and Service classes to access/manipulate my data before I made it ready for display.

It would seem to me that those layers haven been eliminated with JPAContainer? Is there no longer any need for DAOs and Service layers? I know that the JPAContainer has basic container filters, etc, but how does one do any data manipulation prior to display?

For instance, in the past, I would have used a service layer to encrypt/decrypt data before persisting it via a DAO. How do i do that with JPAContainer? I would also have used my service layers to denote the start/end of a transaction. But I don’t see that anywhere in the JPAContainer demo - it all seems to happen “magically”. How/where does one deal with transactions error processing, etc?

Or is there another container that I can use and retain the use of my Service/DAO layers?

Thanks,

Eric

JPAContainer is just a Vaadin container implementation that uses JavaPersistenceApi.
So, JPAContainer is for binding user interface components to data, that is, JPA data.
It supports transactions as well.

JPA by itself lets you easy persist your PoJos, creates the database tables, keys, indices and constraints from the domain model, etc.
It is implemeted for example with Hibernate or Eclipselink, where the latter is the JPA reference implementation
(and has much better performance and predictability than Hibernate and much less quirks,IMO).

For extensive threadsave and transaction based data manipulation you can use JPA´s
EntityManager
itself, in addition to the JPA POJOs persistence patterns.
With the entitymanager you can do alike with DAO and much more with less effort. The SQL that JPA generates internally is mostly unbeatable and performs well.
But you can pass your own SQL statements to it also.
[url=http://]