Difference between ITMILL and GWT

We’re going to build a web application instead of a website. The ITMILL demos look very impressive! Thanks for your great works.

I’m new to the web frameworks. As far as I know, GWT is also a web framework and has tons of ready to use components, such as tree, table, menu, etc. From your website, ITMILL utilizes GWT as the browser side engine. I’m wondering what benefits itmill adds on top of GWT. Is it something similar to GWT extensions ( http://www.gwt-ext.com ) ? Although I’m not familiar with GWT, I guess your demos could also be built using GWT only.

The other question is some other frameworks (wicket, ZK) seem to attract quite a lot of developers. But itmill, though looking like a great one, does not seem to have a lot of users. So I’m a little concerned with its future.

The largest difference between IT Mill Toolkit and Google Web Toolkit is that in GWT you program everything to be run in browser, while as in our Toolkit everything is done in server. Our server-side programming model is generally simpler to use because you do not have to worry about building both server and the client and design communication between them. Furthermore, client-side programming tends to lead to less secure applications as there are much more things to worry about. On the other hand - when you really want to do something in client - for example to add some third-party widget, you can just use GWT as IT Mill Toolkit is built on top of it.