Client-side animation API for Toolkit

To give you some perspective where I’m coming from, I’ll quickly tell you who I am. So, I’m a developer at IT Mill, focusing mostly on the client-side development with GWT, and the main culprit for our default theme. This is just to give you some reference to my opinions and suggestions.

I’ve been developing our client-side engine with GWT from the start, creating new components and doing fixes here and there, but my main responsibility is making IT Mill Toolkit components look and feel good and perform reliably (at least on the surface :)) While our current default theme ‘looks’ pretty decent (easy for me to say), the ‘feel’ part is somehow a bit missing.

I believe this is partly because we don’t use any animations in our Widgets. Lately I’ve been planning on starting my own little pet project in our incubator, with the target of adding a small animation API for our client-side widgets.

I realize that there are some animation classes straight in GWT 1.5, and that several animation frameworks for GWT are being developed across the net, but after a quick glance, none of them offered the thing I was after. But please, if you find my work redundant after your examination, correct me if I’m wrong.

So here are my requirements for this API.

The thing that I’m after is a simple animator that will animate any HTML element from it’s current visual state to another, specified by the developer. More simply, animate an element’s CSS attribute from it’s current value to a specified value.

The animator should of course animate multiple CSS attributes at once, if needed (e.g. ‘top’ and ‘left’ attributes at the same time).

I should be able to specify the attributes either as a map, or as a string representing a CSS classname which will contain the end values of the animation (to help theme developers to specify animations more easily, without recompiling the code).

Simultaneous as well as consecutive animations should be supported.