Can Vaadin do the same as the JasperReports?

Hi

I am a noobie software developer and I found out Vaadin just recently. Now I am very interested in using Vaadin and I am trying to find reasons for my employer to start using Vaadin too. At the moment I am reading the Book of Vaadin and I will start learning Vaadin on my own at some point.

I am new to Vaadin and I have only heard the word JasperReports. I know we will be needing a reporting tool for our next project.
My question is can Vaadin do the same as JasperReports? I have checked out the Vaadin Pro Tools and Vaadin Charts but I don’t know if they can be used producing reports like JasperReports.

Thoughts of any other Pros and Cons that should be considered in general are also welcome.

What exactly do you need from JasperReports? Generate reports as PDF’s? If that is the need then you can have Jasper to do that for you and show them in your UI, embedded into the views or available as downloads. You can use anything that runs on Java when creating a Vaadin app.

If you actually want to generate graphs and tables and whatnot directly in the view, then I think you should share more details on what the actual requirement (for using JasperReports) is.

The problem is I don’t know anything about JasperReports or what kind of reports we want. I think we want to generate reports as PDFs. I am curious of Vaadin’s capabilities and I was impressed by http://demo.vaadin.com/dashboard/#!/reports and I thought if we didn’t need JasperReports at all. JasperReport demo video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bi-J2Zo91JY looks a lot like Vaadin charts.
So my question is if using JasperReports in Vaadin application is recommended or would it be easy to get similar functionality using Vaadin’s own tools?