BorderLayout

Hi!

There is java.awt.BorderLayout like layout also in the Vaadin. Please, test the new
BorderLayout add-on

Regards,
Johannes

Okay, I found the BorderLayout component and it in theory fits my need exactly. I am new to Vaadin and have just started working with the BorderLayout component. So, if there is documentation I can read that clears up any of he quirks I describe below, I would be happy to read it if you link me to it. Otherwise, here are some oddities I have come across so far. My assumption is that because BorderLayout is at version 0.3, it is not completely reliable nor well documented at this time. I will continue to search the forums for answers that may be out there already.

1. You can only add one component to each region (N, S, E, W). The following code when rendered only had the xxx2 TextFields visible. I worked around this by adding one more layer of a container component before adding my content components. Maybe this is expected, but you are able to “addComponent” multiple times to other layout components.
    borderLayout.addComponent(new TextField("north1"), BorderLayout.Constraint.NORTH); borderLayout.addComponent(new TextField("north2"), BorderLayout.Constraint.NORTH); borderLayout.addComponent(new TextField("east1"), BorderLayout.Constraint.EAST); borderLayout.addComponent(new TextField("east2"), BorderLayout.Constraint.EAST); borderLayout.addComponent(new TextField("west1"), BorderLayout.Constraint.WEST); borderLayout.addComponent(new TextField("west2"), BorderLayout.Constraint.WEST); borderLayout.addComponent(new TextField("south1"), BorderLayout.Constraint.SOUTH); borderLayout.addComponent(new TextField("south2"), BorderLayout.Constraint.SOUTH);