BeanFieldGroup fields not updating

I am new to vaadin so excuse me if this is a stupid question.

I am making a simple application with vaadin cdi.
I have a tree with items on it, when you select a node on the tree an event fires which updates a backing bean.
The fields which display the backing bean values is constructed with BeanFieldGroup. Initially when the fieldgroup is created the values are displayed fine but when the tree selection event fires and changes the backing bean the values in the UI fields do not get updated.

beanFieldGroup = new BeanFieldGroup(TimeAction.class);
  beanFieldGroup.setBuffered(false);
  beanFieldGroup.bindMemberFields(timeAction);

client = beanFieldGroup.buildAndBind("Client", "timeMast.timemast_client.clientName", TextField.class);
  client.setReadOnly(true);
  client.setImmediate(true);

layout.addComponent(client);
  beanFieldGroup.setItemDataSource(timeAction);

Do I need to reperform All of the above code anytime a backing value changes?

It doesn’t seem that the getters for the bean properties fire after initial binding. Also the setReadonly(true) doesn’t have any effect.

still strugglin with this any help is appreciated

Hi,

I think the problem is that you’re directly updating the bean value. Because there’s no facilities in Java to listen to arbitrary property changes, there’s no way for Vaadin to realize something has changed and propagate the change to the UI. What you can do is create a BeanItem wrapper yourself, set that as the BeanFieldGroup datasource and update the bean through it:

BeanItem timeActionItem = new BeanItem(timeAction);
    beanFieldGroup.setItemDataSource(timeActionItem);

// in your selection event listener
    timeActionItem.getProperty("yourPropertyName").setValue(someNewValue);

Or if you want to change the whole backing bean in the selection listener, just call
beanFieldGroup.setItemDataSource(anotherBean)
. I think your
beanFieldGroup.bindMemberFields(timeAction)
is unnecessary/erroneous;