BeanContainer + TwinColSelect - Populating RHS

Hi, I’m a newbie to Vaadin. I’m facing issues in setting default values for TwinColSelect. I have listed the code below. Please help me to fix this.

public class Portfolio {
  private long portfolioId;
  private String portfolioCode;
  private String portfolioName;
}

I have a master list of Portfolios on the LHS of TwinColSelect, which is working good.

BeanContainer<Long, Portfolio> portfoliosContainer = new BeanContainer<Long, Portfolio>(Portfolio.class);
portfoliosContainer.setBeanIdProperty("portfolioId");
portfoliosContainer.addAll(allPortfolios);

TwinColSelect portfolios = new TwinColSelect();
portfolios.setRequired(true);
portfolios.setLeftColumnCaption("Available Portfolios");
portfolios.setRightColumnCaption("Selected Portfolios");
portfolios.setContainerDataSource(portfoliosContainer);
portfolios.setItemCaptionMode(ItemCaptionMode.PROPERTY);
portfolios.setItemCaptionPropertyId("portfolioName");
portfolios.setWidth("700px");
portfolios.setImmediate(true);

On some action, I’m trying to set default values to RHS, by querying the portfoilos for a predefined group.

List<Portfolio> existingPortfolios = //query for list HashSet<Portfolio> preselected = new HashSet<Portfolio>(existingPortfolios); portfolios.setValue(preselected); I’m sure, that I have missed few basic steps in this. Appreciate your help in this.

Thanks,
Jagan

Hello Jagan,

The setValue() method of the TwinColSelect expects a set of Ids, which in this case are of type Long. To make your code work, you should then change the preselect-HashSet to contain the portfolioIds of the portfolios you wish to show on the RHS.

The code you’re using to set the selected value would actually work if you switched the container from BeanContainer to BeanItemContainer, which uses the beans themselves as ids. BeanItemContainer is simpler to use, so unless you have a specific need to specify the ids yourself, you should consider using it.